SPACEX IRIDIUM 3 MISSION PATCH

SPACEX IRIDIUM 3 MISSION PATCH

Regular price $8.95

SPACEX IRIDIUM 3 MISSION PATCH

Iridium-3 NEXT Mission Mission Overview SpaceX’s Falcon 9 rocket will deliver 10 satellites to lowEarth orbit for Iridium, a global leader in mobile voice and data satellite communications. This is the third set of 10 satellites in a series of 75 total satellites that SpaceX will launch for Iridium’s next generation global satellite constellation, Iridium® NEXT. SpaceX is targeting launch of Iridium-3 from Space Launch Complex 4E (SLC-4E) at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California. The instantaneous launch window is at 5:37 a.m. PDT, or 12:37 UTC on Monday, October 9. The satellites will begin deployment about an hour after launch. A backup launch opportunity opens at 5:31 a.m. PDT, or 12:31 UTC on Tuesday, October 10. Following stage separation, the first stage of Falcon 9 will attempt a landing on the “Just Read the Instructions” droneship that will be stationed in the Pacific Ocean. Payload The payloads for this launch are the third set of 10 Iridium NEXT satellites. Iridium NEXT will replace the world's largest commercial satellite network of low-Earth orbit satellites in what will be one of the largest "tech upgrades" in history. Iridium has partnered with Thales Alenia Space for the manufacturing, assembly and testing of all 81 Iridium NEXT satellites, 75 of which will be launched by SpaceX. The process of replacing the satellites one-by-one in a constellation of this size and scale has never been completed before.